On March 23, 2020, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 20-80. The Order directs all persons whose point of departure originates from the New York Tri-State Area (Connecticut, New Jersey and New York) and entering the State of Florida by air travel to isolate or quarantine for a period of 14 days from the time of entry or the duration of the person’s presence in the State of Florida, whichever is shorter. The Order, which took effect on March 24, 2020, is in response to an increase in individuals fleeing to Florida from states where “shelter-in-place” orders are being implemented, including the New York Tri-State Area.

Persons isolating or quarantining in the State of Florida are responsible for all costs associated with their isolation or quarantine including transportation, lodging, food and medical care. The Order directs the Florida Department of Health to take all necessary steps to ensure the screening and isolation and quarantine of those persons covered by the Order. Furthermore, all Florida law enforcement agencies are required to assist the Department of Health in enforcing the Order. Any person violating the Order can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by imprisonment of up to 60 days, a fine of up to $500, or both.