On March 23, 2020, Florida Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 20-80. The Order directs all persons whose point of departure originates from the New York Tri-State Area (Connecticut, New Jersey and New York) and entering the State of Florida by air travel to isolate or quarantine for a period of 14 days from the

On Saturday March 21, 2020, Governor Phil Murphy issued Executive Order No. 107 and Executive Order No. 108, introducing additional protective measures amidst the evolving COVID-19 pandemic. For details, click here.

The State of New Jersey has since issued related guidance, expanding upon the definition of “essential business”, and providing additional mechanisms aimed at containing the virus. Here’s what you need to know:

  1. In the event that your retail business or operations do not fit squarely within the definition of “essential business” under Executive Order No. 107, you may now submit a designation request to the State Director of Emergency Management (who, at this time, is the Superintendent of State Police). Per Governor Cuomo’s executive orders, New York has a similar procedure in place to determine what is/is not an essential business in the State of New York.
  2. The State is now calling upon New Jersey residents to report non-compliance with social distancing guidelines. If a business is not following the prescribed protocol, individuals can report non-compliance by contacting their Local Health Department, which can be identified by using the Find Your Local Health Department
  3. Non-essential retail businesses continue to be required to close storefront and/or brick-and-mortar premises operations. The following businesses may continue operations: manufacturing, industrial, logistics, ports, heavy construction, shipping, food production, food delivery, and other commercial operations, provided that such businesses should limit staff on site to the minimum number of individuals necessary to ensure that essential operations can continue.
  4. The State has specifically defined “medical facilities” as any facility where a sick or injured person is given care or treatment, including doctor’s offices, hospitals, dentist offices, long-term care facilities and other medical offices.
  5. Under Executive Order No. 107, all businesses and non-profits must accommodate their workforce for telework or work from home arrangements where practicable. To the extent businesses or non-profits have employees that need to be on site, the State is instructing such businesses to operate with the minimum number of on-site employees required to ensure that critical operations can continue. Examples of such employees include, cashiers or store clerks, construction workers, utility workers, repair workers, warehouse workers, lab researchers, IT maintenance workers, janitorial and custodial staff, and certain administrative staff.
  6. On March 24th, the New Jersey State Director of Emergency Management expanded Executive Order #  107 to include the following as essential retail businesses:
    1.  Mobile phone retail and repair shops.
    2. Bicycle shops, but only to provide service and repair.
    3. Livestock feed stores.
    4. Nurseries and garden centers.
    5. Farming equipment stores.

These businesses must adhere to the social distancing guidelines set forth in Executive Order # 107, which remains in full force and effect until further Order.   Today’s EO can be found here.

Continue Reading

In an effort to assist small businesses impacted by the Coronavirus, the Small Business Association (SBA) has recently expanded access to its Economic Injury Disaster Loan program for small businesses and private nonprofit organizations.  Under the revised criteria, disaster assistance loans are now available for small businesses in every state.

In order to qualify for

Specifically, time limits for commencing actions, filing notices, motions or other process or proceedings under any statute, local law, ordinance, order, rule or regulation, including but not limited to all time limits under the CPLR are tolled.  The tolling period went into effect on March 20, 2020 and continues until April 19, 2020.

The Executive

On Saturday March 21, 2020, Governor Phil Murphy issued Executive Order No. 107 and Executive Order No. 108 (each, an “Executive Order”), introducing additional protective measures amidst the evolving COVID-19 pandemic. These measures will take effect tonight, Saturday March 21, 2020 at 9:00 pm, and will remain in effect until further executive order.